Posted by Lara M under General  on May 27 2015

We’re thrilled to announce Olivia as the winner of the PokitPal VIP European festival giveaway to Scotland’s T In The Park. Apart from using the PokitPal mobile vouchers to win competitions and score discounts, Olivia studies engineering at Griffith University Gold Coast and has chosen her fellow student and boyfriend as her lucky companion to party in the grounds of Strathallan castle in the Scottish summer!

A big thanks to sponsors T In The Park, GUGC Guild and all other student organisation partners for making these comps so amazing. 

We caught up with the pair to find out a bit more about the Goldy students and their upcoming trip.  
What year of university are you in? 
Olivia: Next semester I shall be starting my fourth year of Mechanical Engineering at Griffith University.
Joh: Currently I am in my fourth year out of five studying a dual degree in Civil Engineering and Business Management, also at Griffith University.
Tell us the best thing about studying on the Gold Coast? 

Olivia: I enjoy studying on the Gold Coast because it is close to home and as I grew up here my friends and family are nearby. 
Joh: Because I grew up on the Gold Coast I already know so many people, and it makes seeing mates so much easier.
What’s your favourite PokitPal mobile discount?
Olivia: My favorite PokitPal discounts are all the ones to do with food. It's kind of a necessity and being a uni student on a tight budget, these discounts really help. The recent SumoSalad 15% off food deal is probably my most used as it’s a healthy option of cheap food.
Joh: I enjoyed the $3 Bacon Deluxe Burgers from Hungry Jack's. Yum!
What has you most excited about winning VIP tickets to T In The Park? 
Olivia: I'm looking forward to experiencing a music festival overseas. I've been to a lot of Australian festivals but I am keen to party internationally. 
Joh: I love to travel and I love music festivals, so what's not to love about T In The Park. Gonna be so crazy.
What’s your fav band/artist? 
Olivia: My favorite band of all time would have to be the Beach Boys; a little old fashioned but I think it's Dad's fault for constantly playing their music when I was young. As for current music, I listen to a lot of new school rap including Kendrik Lamar and Schoolboy Q.
Joh: Oh man, it's way too hard to choose, but I've always loved Two Door Cinema Club and The Wombats, so keen to see them live.
What’s your fav Australian festival? 
Olivia: My favorite Australian festival would be a toss up between Stereosonic and Splendour In The Grass. I have been to Stereo twice; last year I was lucky enough to win my Stereosonic ticket from PokitPal as well!  This year will be my second time attending Splendour.
Joh: Splendour In The Grass, but I got really sick last time from drinking vodka out of a shampoo bottle.
Have you ever travelled to Europe? 
Olivia: I haven’t travelled to Europe before but I definitely had it on my list of places to go. My first overseas trip was only a couple of months ago when I travelled to Japan for a snow season holiday (turns out I’m not very good at snowboarding).
Joh: Once before to Germany for a month, but I didn’t get to see much. I had planned on going to Europe again at some point but I didn’t think it would be this soon!
When you think of Scotland, what first comes to mind? 
Olivia & Joh: Kilts! 
Olivia: Kilts and bagpipes are my first thought when Scotland is mentioned, however I know the country holds a lot of history. 
Joh: I can’t wait to go to the Loch Ness wearing a kilt.
Tell us what your dream job or career would be after university? 
Olivia: I’m still not entirely sure what I would like to do when I graduate. At this stage I’m thinking about researching alternative fuel sources at an institute but still no solid plans yet.
Joh: If I could get a job with an engineering firm that allowed me to travel I would be so happy.
What are your interests outside of uni? 
Olivia: Sport! I play touch football, netball and touch rugby league. I love playing backyard cricket with my family and just generally being outdoors.  
Joh: I'm a very social person, so pretty much any activity with the mates is always welcome.
Are you an Android or iPhone user? 
Olivia: iPhone user since day one of smartphones. I've had 3 iPhones so far and am an apple user (don't hate) so I like the way they sync.
Joh: Android always.


Tagged --no tags--